Skip navigation

Countries Information

  1. HOME
  2. Policy Information
  3. International Organization
  4. EAS
eas logo

EAS(East Asia Summit)

EAS (East Asia Summit)

  • East Asia Summit, comprised of 18 countries, is a strategic forum for Asia Pacific leaders to exchange opinions on regional strategic and political affairs.

    EAS was established in 2005 with 16 participants, including ten ASEAN countries, Republic of Korea, People’s Republic of China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, and India, as one of cooperation projects that the East Asia Study Group (EASG) recommended in 2002 for the establishment of East Asia Community. The United States of America and the Russian Federation joined in 2011, expanding the membership to 18.

    Currently, there are six priority areas for EAS ; energy, finance, education, global health, environment and disaster management, and ASEAN connectivity.

    EAS Foreign Ministers’ Meeting and Senior Officials’ Meeting are held annually along with the East Asia Summit. EAS Foreign Ministers’ Meeting, which started as a working lunch, has been held annually since 2008 as a separate meeting to prepare for the Summit and discuss on major regional and international affairs and EAS cooperation. EAS Senior Officials’ Meeting, usually attended by Deputy Ministers, are also held to prepare for the Summit and Foreign Ministers’ Meeting, and exchange opinions on major regional and international affairs.